The National Microscopy Infrastructure, NMI, is a Swedish infrastructure for advanced microscopy and image analysis in life science. NMI was  founded in April 2016, with the financial support from the Swedish Research Council (VR-RFI) and co-financing from the participating Universities. The four initial participating universities are: Royal Institute of Technology (KTH), Stockholm University (SU), Umeå University (UmU) and University of Gothenburg (GU). Since 2019 Uppsala University (UU) is also part of the NMI.

The aim of NMI is to provide access to equipment and competence in microscopy for the life science research community. NMI will also coordinate national and international knowledge exchange in microscopy and is the Swedish node in the European Infrastructure – EuroBioimaging.


All users must acknowledge the National Microscopy Infrastructure in publications. Depending on the context, we suggest two alternatives to include in the acknowledgement:

“We acknowledge the XX (name of imaging facility) at YY (name of the university) and the National Microscopy Infrastructure, NMI (VR-RFI 2019-00217) for providing assistance in microscopy".
“National Microscopy Infrastructure, NMI (VR-RFI 2019-00217)"

Our service to researchers

NMI aims to provide:

  • An internationally competitive Infrastructure to enable Swedish life science researchers to perform world-class research projects using highly specialized microscopy techniques. 
  • An infrastructure equipped with a wide range of microscopy techniques for highly specialized microscopy analysis that is accessible to all academic scientists in Sweden on equal terms. 
  • An organization supporting national networking of Swedish universities and core facilities in the field of life science microscopy.


Steering committee

Ilaria Testa (KTH Royal Institute of Technology)
Eric Hanse (University of Gothenburg)
Elin Esbjörner Winters (Chalmers University of Technology)
Anna Arnqvist (Umeå University)
Neus Visa (Stockholm University)
Jonas Tegenfeldt (Lund University)
Karl-Eric Magnusson (Linköping University)
Patrick Micke (Uppsala University)
Per Uhlen (Karolinska Institutet)

Operational management group

Hjalmar Brismar (KTH Royal Institute of Technology) 
Hans Gunnar Blom (KTH Royal Institute of Technology)
Charlotte Stadler (KTH Royal Institute of Technology) 
Julia Fernandez-Rodriguez (University of Gothenburg)
Linda Sandblad (Umeå University)
Richard Lundmark (Umeå University)
Christiane Peuckert (Stockholm University)
Edouard Pesquet (Stockholm University)
Carolina Wählby (Uppsala University)
Anna Klemm (Uppsala University)

NMI nodes

NMI – KTH, Stockholm (Super resolution microscopy), SciLifeLab
NMI – SU, Stockholm (Intravital microscopy) IVMSU Stockholm University
NMI – GU, Göteborg (Multimodal imaging) CCI University of Gothenburg
NMI – UmU, Umeå (Correlative electron microscopy) BICU, UCEM Umeå University
NMI – UU, Uppsala (Image analysis, bioimgae informatics) BIIF, Uppsala University

This website uses cookies! By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies. They help feed our microscopes!